slumpity slump slump.slump

“You don’t think your way into a new kind of living. You live your way into a new kind of thinking.”
— Henri Nouwen

Last night I got to the point where everything, and I mean everything, was annoying me. How did this happen you ask? Well, that’s just the thing. It caught me so off guard that even the very fact that I was in a foul mood made me irritated.

So I “slept in” or at least attempted to. Took a shower, made some coffee, laughed with Simon, then curled back up in my bed and read some promises laid out, long before any of us walked this earth, and tried to let the Psalms open up my eyes and heart. I lit some candles, closed my door and lay in the sun (trying to peak in through the fog) and stared at my stone wall just outside my window– and was thankful that there was a stone wall there, I love Irish stone walls.

Then just now I sat down to read some (of the very few blogs) that I follow. I mean, I love reading, which is probably the only reason I read the blogs, because I’m really not a fan of sitting in front of a computer. At all- one of the reasons I struggle so much with keeping in touch over skype. (Skype and I have a love/hate relationship). Anyway. This is a lovely post, but also these bullets from it are going to stick with me for a bit and give me something to chew on. (Thank you Richard for always inspiring by being so contemplative and op

1. We need to know we’re loved – first by God, and then by some people in our lives.

2. We need to know our gifts - Paul took great pains, in several letters to different churches, to explain that each of us has a vital contribution to make to God’s kingdom.

3. We need to quit obsessing over size and context.  I’ll look for joy in small things, and celebrate every step of progress here.  Now.  ”Wherever you are, be all there”.

4. Everything needs to flow out of intimacy with Christ.”

A few days ago I received an email from a friend with lyrics to a song, which I didn’t look at until just now:

Blue Skies- Noah and the Whale

This is a song for anyone
With a broken heart
This is a song for anyone
Who can’t get out of bed

I’ll do anything
To be happy
Oh cause blue skies are calling
But I know that it’s hard

This is the last song
That I write
While still in love with you

This is the last song
That I write
While you’re even on my mind

Cause it’s time to leave
Those feelings behind
Oh cause blue skies are calling
But I know that it’s hard

I don’t think that it’s the end
But I know we can’t keep going
I don’t think that it’s the end
But I know we can’t keep going

But blue skies are calling
Oh yeah blue skies are calling
Oh blue skies are calling
But I know that it’s hard

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

